Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, everyone. I am an author of young adult fiction, and I'm currently writing a book set in a world with American colonial-level technology. I would like to include a scene of a group of men/boys who go hunting deer to feed the people in a caravan.

Problem is, I am not a hunter, and need some help. Basically, I would like to pick your brains on the basics. Call it research! :wink: In the past, I've found it's much easier to learn about a subject through discussion than through a textbook.

1. How many people can make up a hunting party?
  2. Would they go on horseback, or on foot?
  3. Would they take a dog?
  4. Would they hunt with rifles, or with bows? - this is more of an advantage/disadvantage question, let me worry about the time period and available equipment
  5. How long can a hunt take?
  6. How is a deer tracked?
  7. For eating, would they go for a buck or a doe (or does it matter)?
  8. How many people can one deer feed?
  9. How would they get the deer back?

Thank you very much in advance. I am open to links to helpful articles, anecdotes, and plain fact, if you are interested in helping me.

Regards,
Rachel

G

·
normally there wasn't so much of a hunting party as the older male family members going to get food. for a caravan i would think as many as possible taking into account the safety of those left behind.

horseback or by foot? well that could be either or both. as folks lived in one place for longer periods of time game would become more scarce and they would have to go farther and farther out to find game, which could be just about any animal.