Deer Hunting Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to buy a new digital scouting camera this year. I have an infared camera now and am not to thrilled with the pics. Does the flash of a digital camera really scare deer? A staff member at my pro shop told me he thinks it was more the sound of the 35mm film winding than the flash and if I go digital with a flash I'll be okay.:confused:

·
Premium Member
3,942 Posts
Try cuddebackdigital.com, there's a new camera called the no flash. I guess it's supposed to be the hot new item out from cuddeback.

·
Registered
13 Posts
In my experience I don't think it bothers them as much as they say it might. I have a Moultrie camera, and it has a flash on it. And I have pictures of an 8 point buck that has come back 5 times to the area. Not to mention multiple does. I have no experience in the infared area, those cameras are a bit pricey for me. I am sure they work well though.

·
Registered
517 Posts
Re.scouting Camera

I Have 2 Moultree Scouting Cameras One Is The 4.0 W/flash And The Other Is The 6.0 No Flash And At Fist The Deer Are Alittle Jumpy But They Will Get Used To It.i Think The No Flash Would Be The Way To Go But The Flash Is Very Good To.the Only Thing With The No Flash Is The Night Pictures Are Black And White.my Father Has The Cuddeback And Doesn't Like It And Is Planning To Buy The Moultree 6.0 No Flash

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have the Moultrie 4.0 with flash. I have repeatedly been visited by a 10 point, and an 8 point, they don't seem to mind it a bit, several does all within close proximity of the camera and they are still there 5 minutes later when it takes the next picture. Not sure how well the IR works, never have owned one.

·
Registered
517 Posts