Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This past year i started jumping the gun on shooting. Id shoot before i had the pin where i wanted it. I have never done this before. No matter how hard i tried i couldnt stop it. I use to shoot tournaments and never had this problem. Win i shot at deer i didnt do it. Any ideas on what i can do to stop this? Like i said its only when im shooting at a target.

·
Registered
8,459 Posts
Most likely its called target panic. What I've read is to go through your shooting form. Start with each motion concentrating on every step. You may be punching the release instead of pulling through. The arrow should go off without you thinking about it, just concentrate on the target spot.

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
i absoulty agree. when i shoot my bow I focus on every step. i grip the release the same way, grip the bow the same way, draw the bow the same way, ancher the same way, aquire the sight picture, then and only then do i take my trigger finger out from behind the trigger, and get ready to shoot.

·
Registered
18 Posts
i absoulty agree. when i shoot my bow I focus on every step. i grip the release the same way, grip the bow the same way, draw the bow the same way, ancher the same way, aquire the sight picture, then and only then do i take my trigger finger out from behind the trigger, and get ready to shoot.

When you find your form of shooting, its gotta be close to perfect everytime you shoot, def if you shoot a short brace height bow.

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
one thing i learned about shooting is you can do everything wrong, but if you do everything wrong exactly the same way everytime you can be one hell of a good shot.

·
Registered
55 Posts