Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I am in southern IL and this is my first year hunting here. I am from Oregon and have gotten 5-6 bucks with my 30-06 rifle over 10 years ago. I listened to all of my good friends who hunt and 3 of them got 3-4 deer last year but I am getting fustrated some.

I have tried to do everything by the book, washing all clothes in scent free soap and dryer sheets, neutralizer scent on everything that can't be washed. I also bought a Alpine Frontier bow this year and have been shooting it for about 4 months and was doing it 5 days a week for about 1 hour for the last month. I bought a good tree climber and go 20-25 feet up in the air. I am blessed by the fact that I have 3 pieces of private property I can hunt with one being atleast 200 acres and the smallest being 20 acres.

Been hunting 5 times so far this year (got really sick with flu for 1 1/2 weeks) and missed alot of time there. I have only hunted from one tree so far but it is at a intersection of 3 trails that leads from a corn field down into "the bottoms" where the swamp is. I have not even seen one deer even with tracks all over. The closest I got to shooting an animal was a coyote came down the trail and at 20 yards I gave a quiet grunt and he stopped broadside. The owner said to shoot them but I didn't want to ruin my hunt so I let him go by. It would be one thing to see some deer and be out of range or spook them off before I could shoot but so far I just haven't even seen one. Fustrating because my friends have seen deer and the owner even got a shot off at a large buck only about 200 yards from my stand but the buck bolted before the arrow hit. Not sure what I am doing wrong.

·
Registered
8,459 Posts