Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to hunting and would appreciate suggestions on the best semi automatic rifles and scopes for deer or best suggestion on bolt action.

·
Registered
852 Posts
My thoughts on semi autos verses bolt actions

Personally I love shooting both but if you are new to shooting I recommend that you look at bolt action rifles for hunting. An entry level bolt action will have a good barrel, good trigger, and will be easy to mount a scope on. I recommend that you look at standard calibers, stay clear of anything with the word Magnum in its name.

Karl

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Karl!

I've been thinking about the Remington 700 series in 30-06. If I want a semi and am willing to spend some money do you have particular make and model and scope you would recommend . I'm in california so I'm restricted. Thanks again.

·
Registered
852 Posts
Semi auto rifles I recommend

Browning makes the BAR in most of the popular caliber choices. They are offered in both steel receiver and alloy versions. I have shot the steel version and it shot very well at 100 yards. One negative is they are expensive. Second is you are stuck with their factory trigger pull weight.

Remington 750- These are very popular where I live in MN. Possibly not as accurate as the Browning listed above. The Deer won't know the difference.
I did see that one guy is offering a replacement lighter trigger for the Remingtons.

Both hold 4 rounds in the magazine so even the Peoples Republic of California should let you have it.

Watch the youtube videos for disassembly on them for complete takedown. Neither one is easy to strip down for a total clean of the rifle.

Karl

·
Registered
852 Posts
Scope recommendations

You didn't list what you want to spend. It is very important to make some decisions.