Deer Hunting Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi well Im pretty new to hunting birds and using shot guns, my dad got me a little single shot 4-10 from remmington about well a year ago for my birth day last year and Ive recently had another one but I still dont know much about shot guns I know that there is like chokes, guages, patterns diferent slugs but I dont really know what they are or what they do, so could some one help me out and explain it to me better? thank you soooo much

·
Registered
3,608 Posts
shotguns are a blast.your little 410 can actually shoot slugs and can be used as a deer rifle.the chokes are little tubes that screw into the end of the barell they open or restrict by milimeter the opening which the pellets fly through.this is mainly used in bird hunting and shooting clays.the fuller the choke like a full coke or extra full the tighter more close together the pellets shot string will be then you have modified .improved and improved modified these all open up the string to shoot a wider pattern,the wider the patteren the bigger the cloud of pellets but there are trade offs when you go wide there will be fewer pellets in the area as opposed to a full where all the pellets go to one spot ,like a turkeys head:lol:.hope that helps explain chokes.the gauge of the rifle refers to the bore size and the ammo it uses .it goes like this410,20 12 10 smallest to largest.im sure the others will add to this so know ya know get out and start shooting and have fun:lol:

·
Registered
3,608 Posts
no definately not dont do itit can shot a slug shotgun shell only

·
Registered
3,608 Posts
glad ya understood .I couldnt find a font big enough:lol::lol::lol::lol:

·
Registered
3,608 Posts
by the way that 410 makes a sweet bird gun cuz ya can carry it all day at port arms without YOUR arms falling off:w00t:

·
Registered
22 Posts