Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright i'm new to hunting, but not new with shooting rifles but just have never owned one. I was lookin at the savage 30-06 but when i go on their website there are different styles and kinds of the 30-06 and i just dont know what kind im needing (just for deer hunting). thats my first question

2. this kinda follows the first question, but alright, after i get my rifle i am goin to be ready for next years deer season and the land im going out to i have no deer stand, what are other ways that i could be stationary on the ground but still in a good position to take down a deer? and do you have any tips on the deer calls to bring the deer in to sight

·
Premium Member
3,942 Posts
Welcome to the site HN8, glad to have you here. I would say the bolt action rifle has much better accuracy hopefully that will gelp narrow your choices a little. As for next season you should scout the area out way before the season starts to help you get a feel of the land and deer sign. Then when that is all done look into possible setup areas in which you could hunt without being seen and note the wind patterns because that is the most important factor whether on the ground or in a tree.

G

·
timbers advise is good.

you should go to a gun shop and handle the rifles and find what feels good in your hands and in your shoulder. the different styles have different purposes basically. a heavy rifle is more stable to shoot with less perceived recoil but its HEAVY. a light rifle is quick to handle but harder to settle and the perceived recoil is more.

personally i like synthetic stocks and blued mat finish. wood can go sour and it gets scratched up. real pretty wood it a classic but savage doesn't really use pretty wood. stainless steel is well stainless to a point but i can pick the stainless barrel out like a star wars light saber.