Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. Found this club while browsing and really enjoyed reading some of the posts by the members.

I am new to the sport of bowhunting but I really enjoy the outside and watching wildlife of all kinds. This is my first season out with a bow. I live in nortwest oklahoma and there are some great hunting oppertunities here. I am privledged enough to have close to 400 acres of private land to hunt it has wheat, alfalfa, and timber on it.

I could use some tips from more experianced fellows.

·
Registered
195 Posts
Welcome to the club Brandon.I live in Northeast Oklahoma.I think some advice in bowhunting is practice all you can,have alot of patience,and scent control.Know your effective range.What I do is set up a target at different ranges.I will shoot 10 shots at that range,if I can't hit that kill zone every time,that is not a effective range for me.Now,keep in mind I may continue to practice until I can.I believe my max range is 35 yards.Can I shoot at 50?Yes but I can't hit the kill zone every time.I would just as soon let the deer walk and maybe get a chance later on rather than making a bad shot.This is a great site for info,you will get some good advice.

·
Registered
562 Posts
Hello, I'm from Enid and hunt places in beween Lahoma/Goultry and Avard. There is a lot of varying terrain between there and that is what really affects your hunting style. Where do you hunt?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Welcome to you and to me, I am new as well to the site just not new to the sport.

The best advise I can give is to practice in the same way you play...:thumbup:

What I mean is this, if you are going to be hunting from a tree practice from an elivated area and get to know just how you will be shooting from that elevation, believe me it is different.