Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys how are ya?Lookit..Im new to bowhunting...In fact this is the first year Ive ever even shot a bow...and in the process I fell in love.Hard.I have a few questions that I need some help answering, I only have a few acres of my own land to hunt along with public land so wind direction and stand location is limiting the time I spend in the woods.I need a climbing stand, or perhaps just an effective way to climb a tree.The climber I have is huge and heavy and Im tired of lugging it around with me.Any suggestions?

·
Registered
190 Posts
there are a few options open that i can think of there is of course very difficult but the option of ground hunting in a blind. or taking your stand into the woods the night before or something to that affect. also you could look into a ladderstand if you have your own land, or if you can hunt on private land that the pwner allows you to do so. make sure you always have a good amount of shooting lanes in your tree it does no good when bowhunting to have a world record deer broadside at 20 yards if you cant ever get a shot. thats where tree placement comes in and all those things. good luck and welcome to our wonderful world.

·
Administrator
5,708 Posts
If it's your land I would just set up a couple of ladder stands with 2 things in mind, bedding and food sources locate the routes the deer use for travel (the corridors), set the stands approx. 30 yards off those trails. morning hunts near bedding areas, afternoon hunts near food sources.
Good Luck.

·
Registered
8,459 Posts