Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay guys I need your help, I'm new to hunting and I'm looking to purchase my first rifle. Some of you may have read an earlier post about the Mossberg ATR 100 that I was thinking about purchasing based on value, well since then I've looked at alot of rifles and have finally decided on the Tikka T3 camo stainless. when it comes to shopping I'm the type of guy that likes to research everything at home and then go to the store and walk in and walk out. So my question is about calibers, the rifle is offered in short, medium, long action and magnum, what does all this mean? I know some basics as far as calibers but need some help and what's best for the type of hunting I will be doing. Where I will be hunting I will have several different scenarios available to me. Most of my time will be spent in a ground blind in a heavily wooded area with the longest possible shot about 100 yards. I will also have the ability to hunt from a shooting house with a possible shot of up to 350+ yards . From what I've read alot og guys are using the 300 mag caliber in this rifle for an all around shooter. Recoil is not an issue for me, I would prefer a rather powerful caliber in case I get into some big game hunting as my interest in hunting grows. On my first hunt this year I used my father-in-law's .270 and have shot it quite a bit since mid-November and am real comfortable with it. Well sorry about the long post but I know I will get accurate info here versus some mumbo jumbo from a kid behind the sporting goods department counter.

·
Premium Member
3,942 Posts