Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for a good reasonbly priced treestand climber, I like to walk and I also use a ground blind. I was looking at the gorilla greyback climber on sportsmans guide $140.00 any advise good or bad thanks

·
Registered
3,608 Posts
never used em swear by summit.stands are like bows/rifles ,lots of loyalty to your favorite.I would suggest going to a big outdoor store ,that has the stands set up so you can see for yourself.

·
Administrator
5,708 Posts
The only thing I can say is I think Gorilla stands are heavier to haul in and out of the woods. The greyback has a max weight rating of 300 lbs. and weighs 27 lbs.

I have a gorilla climber but luckily I have a 4 wheeler to haul it around with, it's a great climber but it's heavy.

·
Registered
6 Posts
I've been using an old Tree Lounge for about 15 years, it's gotta be the most comfortable climber available. I wouldn't use anything else.

·
Registered
247 Posts
Im like Joel I swear by my summit. I see alot more deer in my summit than I ever did in any of my other climbers. Last weekend I lowered my bow down and my backpack and had to drop the rope because I didn't have enough slack to tie it to my stand. I seen 3 does at 20 yards. I climbed all the way down the tree all the way to the bottom and they finally saw me. I have also sit all day in my summit I would have never thought about doing that in my other stands. The only problem I have had in my summit is staying awake. I am about your size sdgr22 and I would get the viper instead of the goliath its more compact and better for bowhunting. As for the gorialla greyback my uncle has one and its a heavy death trap in my opinion its extremly hard to climb and set up and not very comfortable. I would spend the extra money and get the summit it will run about 250 tax and all.

·
Premium Member
5,650 Posts