Deer Hunting Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
a buck in the area im hunting keeps makeing scrapes on a daylie bacis but never refreshans any of them. the scraps are all in a 150sq yard area. what dose this tell me about the buck and what he is doing?

·
Registered
86 Posts
As you know from other posts, I'm not an expert. However, I think I might have a suggestion based on what I read.

1) It tells you that the buck (or maybe several of them) are in the area and in the rut.
2) It tells you that the buck believes there're does around too (does' bedding area might be downwind).
3) It might tell you size of the buck (he might imprint his antlers), but I am not sure if you can read them. I sure cannot.

What he's doing.

1) The book I am reading now suggest that making a scape is pleasant to a buck.
2) Since he don't revisit those scrapes, he's not serious about getting a hot doe scent there (it contradicts what I said before, but what I said before there's does in the area in general, but theese particular scrapes aren't his primary visit spots for them does).
3) So, he probably just marks his territory with those scrapes and gets himself a quick pleasure.

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
as far as size. i have read from books they can range from the size of a frisbee to the size of a hood of a car. if thats the case they are meduum size. about 14" wide by 30" long. as far as depth i have no knowlage of what constituses deep or shallow. to me they look worked hard. today i still hunted my area to get a good look around and found some new and nasty rubbs to. from what i have read i assumed it was a yong buck because of them not getting re worked but wanted to get opinions from you guys.

·
Registered
790 Posts