Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I am new to hunting all together except that i've been turkey hunting once. I went turkey hunting during spring break of '07. I'm 16 years old and am going deer hunting this winter. I need to get everyone's opinion on what gun i should get.

Thx in advance

·
Registered
3,608 Posts
well first off congrats on taking up hunting.Now when you went turkey did you shoot?Im assuming you used a shotgun.A12 gauge slug gun will kill a deer with no problem.Where are you hunting?is it wide open spaces?if so you'll need a rifle. a30/30 might be good for ya so would a 270.do you have acess to firearms?if you do your best bet would be to try diffrent types to see which you like.Remember bigger is NOT always better.alot of people shoot a gun that they cant handle causing them to flinch and they become afraid of the kick,they shoot terrible after that.go with the someone who knows about hunting in your area and ask what they use.start scouting your hunting locations now .get a topo map of the area and start looking for funnels ,saddles ,ridges and other good deer locations.A good book you might want to get is"hunting todays whitetail"from sports afield i think it cost 15$has everything a beginer needs to know.Feel free to ask questions remember the only stupid questions are the ones not asked

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
ty joel very much for the info i will definitely take into consideration everything you have said.