Deer Hunting Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
are there advantages to hunting in the rain /do the deer still move or just lay down like cows

·
Registered
72 Posts
I thought this was asked a few days ago. Im no expert but in my experiences a light rain may stimulate movement. Heavy rains will lay em down. I hate hunting in any rain because its a sight game only. My nose isnt too good and my ears are filled with other noises. Its sight only and possible to have one walk right past you if you happen to be looking the other way. I carry a garbage bag for a quick raincoat but rarely sit it out. I have Frogg toggs raingear but have never used it.

·
Registered
138 Posts
It depends. If it was a couldless night with a full moon and the deer ate all night, do you think it is going to stand out in the rain for your target practice?

The harder the rain and wind the more disadvantaged the deer are and the less you will see, but there are so many factors. Like hunger, warmth, rut....

That said studies show that deer movement is reduced 60% with winds above 15 mph, but a group of 4 deer slowly walked across the 100 yd wide powerline yesterday afternoon when they had a full moon the night before and the wind was gusting very hard.

It is hunting people

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I thought this was asked a few days ago. Im no expert but in my experiences a light rain may stimulate movement. Heavy rains will lay em down. I hate hunting in any rain because its a sight game only. My nose isnt too good and my ears are filled with other noises. Its sight only and possible to have one walk right past you if you happen to be looking the other way. I carry a garbage bag for a quick raincoat but rarely sit it out. I have Frogg toggs raingear but have never used it.