Deer Hunting Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I cought this buck on camera for past two weeks at my family land. This is my first year hunting and my first buck i have crossed paths with. Any clue what he would score? Should I take him this year if possible or wait till next?

There is two scrapes about 25 yards to the right of the camera, Doesnt look like they have been messed with much. But they have been there sence eairly September.

Also on October 5th when he comes through in the picture he makes a fresh rub on one of the sapling trees right infront of camera.

I have put corn down and a mineral lick where the camera is facing to bring in some pics.

Any suggestions or opinions would be greatly appericate. Just wondering if this is gonna be a decent place to put a stand up and maby he might come back through.

·
Registered
3,271 Posts
DUDE! HECK YES he's a shooter! I would say he's either 4 1/2 or 5 1/2 year old. He's tall and wide and he's DEFINATELY a buck I'd shoot. He'll be a mounter! I would guess him to score around 160 - 170 non-typically.

Wish I was huntin' where you're at!!!! Good luck and let us know when you get him!

·
Registered
46 Posts
If you get a shot take it, dont expect buck like that to come around to often most have to hunt for many years to harvest a buck like that. Be careful placing your stand. A old buck like that doesnt get that old by being dumb if you can place your stand farther away but where you can still take a shot.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·