Deer Hunting Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just wondering if anyone had any recipes for a good homemade deer bait. I am new to hunting and just want to get em in a little closer...Thanks

·
Registered
8,459 Posts
Hello from Ohio. Homemade, about the only thing I can think of would be a mixture of red trace mineral salt and blend in more liquid molassas. Red mineral salt is used in the farm animal industry and isn't very costly. Pour it over a stump or dig a hole in the ground and mix with dirt. Just know the law regarding baiting on this one. Good luck

·
Registered
3,608 Posts
molasses on a stump.baiting is illegal here in NY check your regs first or smokey the bear might pay ya a visit

·
Administrator
5,710 Posts
If I revealed my secret recipe, It wouldn't be a secret anymore.
OH heck I'll tell ya, :unsure:
You have to be in the right spot at the right time, BUT don't let everybody know :lol:

·
Registered
4 Posts
peanut butter

i use peanut butter and a cooking oil that smells like apples and some salt , plus a real apples blend and mixes them up with everthing some guys up here where mixing corn and chocolate works very well.

·
Registered
3,608 Posts
again check your regs book first.no deer is worth the embarrassment of getting arrested,losing your gear(gun,bow,car,truck etc..)paying fines ......get your boots on get a map scout the area bring back a report and we'll help ya

·
Registered
1 Posts
ya i got a good 1
get two cap fulls of worsestershire sauce
1 can of corn juice without the corn
1 can of apple juice use the corn can for measurment
and 3-4 spoons of peanut butter
stir and cook until it almost boils and refidgerate lasts about two weeks

·
Registered
1,524 Posts
I put out some ground up roasted corn to day
A local farmer made to get rid of excess suppy
smells like peanut butter..

·
Registered
1,524 Posts
Update...on the roasted corn
if you want to round up every coon in your woods...