It isn't TO cold to get out shooting - Deer Hunting Forums
Rifle Hunting Discuss Rifle Season topics

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 10:47 AM Thread Starter
B&C 140 Class

It isn't TO cold to get out shooting

Well it has not be fun here in Minnesota lately. Temps keeping getting on the wrong side of zero degrees F. Yes I know there are some of us that live in the 49th state that probably wish it was that warm.
I got out to the range on a day that was low 20s and it was fun to put some rounds through the rifle. My ammo was the left overs from Deer hunting this year( I didn't get a shot) and some I threw together at the last minute.
My big disappointment was one round wouldn't go off, bad primer. I have been loading pistol/rifle ammo for about 40 years and that is the first primer that I have had not go off. It was a Federal primer and I am sure that it was my mistake somehow. I always spray my cases with case lube. I can only guess that it ran down into the primer hole killing the new primer. I can only imagine if my rifle would not have fired at a whitetail.
Hopefully 40 more years before I have another primer not go off.

Karl
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 11:06 AM
B&C 140 Class

Nah, cold temps are fine for shooting. Heck, the barrel stays cooler and so does the Coke on the shooting table. But along with that we've had high winds ("Taku Winds" called locally) of upwards 90mph at the harbor. Less back in the Valleys but you never know until you get there.

I've been reading a lot about bad primers in factory ammo these days. More so than ever. I think that's why I use one of those roll pads to lube cases instead of sprays..... it controls more of where the lube goes.

NRA Life member
NAHC Life member
USN Retired
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-10-2017, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
B&C 140 Class

More on primer woes