Rifle Hunting Discuss Rifle Season topics

3Likes
  • 1 Post By rookie_gunner228
  • 1 Post By BruceBruce1959
  • 1 Post By Karl.Luhr

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2016, 01:40 AM Thread Starter
Scrub Buck

New to Hunting: What Rifle and Scope?

So I'm new to hunting and there are a few main questions I have. I like tactical rifles such as my ar-15 because of the looks and adjustable stock. So
1. Can I use tactical rifles such as my ar-15 for hunting? (I know you have to use specific caliber depending on what you're hunting) I like tactical rifles because of the whole rail system and adjustable stock.
2. Can hunting rifles have adjustable stocks? Every hunting rifle I've seen have fixed stocks.
3. Are use of magazines allowed in hunting?
4. Is there a limit to how much rounds can be loaded into each magazine?
5. My budget is $2000-2500, is there any rifles you would recommend especially for a beginner in hunting?
robertpet likes this.
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2016, 07:28 AM

The answers to your questions are all based on where you live.
My advice would be to call one of your local wildlife officers (Game Warden) and ask them all the same Questions.

P.S. AR's are nice and look cool but did you know all military Snipers use Bolt Action Rifles?
I guess it's for the Bolt actions superb accuracy and dependability,
so for me personally I'd rather have the accuracy and dependability vs. the cool looks of an AR. just sayin'
robertpet likes this.

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch.
Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the outcome of the vote.
-Benjamin Franklin

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2016, 10:15 AM
B&C 140 Class

I also like military rifles(tactical) but for hunting..