New at Muzzleloading - Deer Hunting Forums
MuzzleLoader Hunting Discuss MuzzleLoader topics

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-05-2010, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
Scrub Buck

New at Muzzleloading

I'm new at muzzleloading. I just bought a CVA APEX .50 cal. This gun is fairly new on the market (last year?) and I do not see any threads discussing this gun. I know each gun can be different as to preference of powder and bullets (to include weight). I would greatly appreciate it if those or you who are very familiar with loads recommend three types of powder and bullets for me to start with at the range. I have read a lot about BH209, 777, and Pyrodex all in powder and pellets. Also, I read where Jim Shockey now has a stick type powder. I see Hornady FPB and their other saboted bullets, Shockwaves, PowerBelt, and Barnes to name a few. Hornady responded to a question and stated the FPB has a skirt of .509 and a body of .499. I will be sighting in at 100 yds, using a Leupold VI 2-7X33 scope. I do not know the exact diameter of the bore of my giun. This ole man does not want to kill his shoulder (besides being quite expensive) trying upteen different loads. If the gun does its part which I know it will and I do mine, a few words on penetration and expansion would also be appreciated. Keep in mind, the game will be mostly deer (+ 100 yds) and wild boar (+50 yards). Many thanks in advance to those of you who can respond. Have a great day and pass it along to someone else.
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-06-2010, 04:14 PM
B&C 140 Class