how far??? - Deer Hunting Forums
Bow Hunting Discuss Bow Season topics

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 10:08 AM Thread Starter

how far???

Hi, I'm new to the bow hunting scene. I've do a lot of turkey, bird, and small game but want to step it up a bit. now i have a peice of property (8 acre) which is wooded but recently houses have been put in all around my land. so my question is as follows. how far will a deer typically run after its been shot? lets say it was a good shot through the lungs or heart. and where would they usually lay down? i just dont want a deer to die in someones backyard. even though i have the right to retrieve...
thx in advance
nate
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 11:22 AM
ronn

could be as much as a couple hundred yards. as little as 10. it really varies.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 11:34 AM
B&C 120 Class

I can generalize a response for you. I have heart shot deer and they ran less than 100 yards each time. In theory they still have air in there lungs and may run it out. Any double lung shot deer I have taken has dumped within 50 yards. Each are fatal but I would opt for the lung shot each time. In my experience they dump sooner and the vital target is bigger. I cannot speak for single lung shot deer. Hope this helps.
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 05:41 PM
wmi
B&C 140 Class

Single lung shot they can go a lllloooonnnggggg way.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 09:42 PM

Like ronn said it varies.. In past experiece though they usually go down within 100 or less (easy). If your not confident after your shot just give the deer some time before you track it. That way you dont jump it up again to run some more. (prob into someones back yard) If I was hunting the center part of the 8 acres I would not be concerned that it would move to far into the subdivision part of the neighborhood.