Want To Try Tukey Hunting?? - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > Other Hunting Topics > Turkey Hunting

Old 02-26-2008, 06:38 AM
B&C 140 Class

Default Want To Try Tukey Hunting??

I Have A Few Questions?what Type Of Choke Should I Use Full,xfull,xxfull?also What Type Of Shot.should I Use A Ground Blind Or Sit Next To A Tree,calls,and Decoy?i Have A Large Flok Of Turkeys Behind My House And One Very Large Tom I Have Seem Them Many Times And Know The Area Where They Are.which Is Better Morning Or Afternoon?i'm New To Turky Hunting So Any Advise Would Be Great.thanks In Advance
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2008, 08:59 AM

You should decide the choke by the the shooting pattern you Desire.
Use a Turkey Target <-(courtesy download by Remington) at 40 yards to see your shot pattern between the Different chokes...
Use the one that stays grouped the best.

If you have Turkeys right behind the house, Why wait for turkey season to start? I would say go sit out there NOW in full camo use a net mask also to make sure your face is covered.. Bring a Camera and calls and see what works best for you. Turkeys have keen eyesight, they don't miss a thing. This will be good practice for you and it will help you decide which time is best morning/afternoon. and whether you should use a blind or not same goes for the decoy,s try them to see If ole' Tom Turkey likes Fake gals or not... This is the approach I would take, Good Luck To You.

Old 02-26-2008, 10:00 AM
B&C 180 Class

i respectfully disagree with ya bruce on trying out hid tactics now on the turkeys he s planning on hunting.For a bird who has a brain the size of a peanut its pretty darn smart.he could spook them away to never return.the gun info was spot on.i would try those turkeys only if i wasnt going to hunt them.thats my 2 cents