Deer Hunting Forums banner

Beavers

4K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  jake112 
#1 ·
I have noticed a few beavers hanging around on the in laws land. I have never tried trapping before and I think this may be as good a time to start as any. What should I know, do, get, etc???????

Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
Never got a chance to trap beavers, but I think it would be an adventure. I'm sure there are great books that detail trapping those pesky creatures along with tips you get here. Beavers are very interesting animals and I love to watch them from a deer stand along a swamp but they do some major damage with water levels and flooding not to mention tree felling which they seem to do for recreational fun. Good luck on the trapping.

#3 ·
Just passing on some info that i learned from others/reading. The easiest way to trap beavers is to find a shallow channel they are using or a spot that they frequently use to exit the water. You can use a #330 body gripping trap using sticks jammed in the mud to funnel the beaver through the trap. These are some powerful traps so you should be careful setting them. Also look into handling the fur first so when you do get one you know what to do. I'm getting ready for next years trapping season. I am planning on targeting mink and muskrat so I can get a good feel for processing the fur.

#4 ·
There are many types of traps as well. One keeps them alive and well and another just acts like a mouse trap...wham. As timetohunt said using a channel works well and you can also make a trough in a dam and allow water to go through and set a trap where the beaver will be going to make repairs and just make sure you anchor the traps well so they don't get carried away.

#5 ·