New Hunter needing help - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Rifle Hunting
Rifle Hunting Discuss Rifle Season topics

Old 08-28-2012, 06:56 PM
Scrub Buck

Default New Hunter needing help

Hey. I have hunted squirrel and little things before but always wanted to deer hunt. Honestly just haven't had the oppurtunity. One lady i work with has a good bit of land and is going to let me use it this year for deer hunting. Has nice little pond on land that i have heard from many ppl that deer have been spotted there. She says the land hasn't been hunted in years. I have no idea how to scout the land and what i am even looking for.

I also do not know what to do about feed/plots. When do they need to be out and things like that. I would love to kill a deer this first year but not going to say its a must since i am new to the whole thing. Any ideas/input that you have would be appreciated. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-28-2012, 07:47 PM
B&C 120 Class

You are lucky to have a place like that for your first deer hunt.I would walk the property starting now and look for the largest deer trails.Try to find a place to watch those trails morning or evening.Pay attention to the wind and don't sit where your scent will blow across the trail.I hunt on the ground, but you may want to use an elevated stand/tree stand.Try to keep your shots under 100 yards and if your rifle is sighted in for 100 yards you should be good.
Old 08-28-2012, 08:28 PM
Unregistered

Thanks for your info. When should i start putting out food plot/feeders. I wanted to go ahead and start the process if that was something i needed to do
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 08:53 PM
B&C 140 Class

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Thanks for your info. When should i start putting out food plot/feeders. I wanted to go ahead and start the process if that was something i needed to do