300 Yards a long hard to make shot??? - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Rifle Hunting
Rifle Hunting Discuss Rifle Season topics

Old 08-24-2012, 03:40 PM
takiniteasy

Default 300 Yards a long hard to make shot???

I am new to hunting, and by new I mean I have never been on a hunt and I do not know any hunters, I have just started watching hunting shows and videos online. I was a sniper in the Army, and the Army was the first time I had ever handled any type of wepon, so it is all I know when it comes to shooting. That said on most of the shows I have seen about hunting the guys say stuff like " I would like to get closer than this" or " this is going to be hard at 300 yards". Now as a marksman in the Army those were super easy shots for us< is there someting I am missing here? Is it just the caliber of ammo being used? I used what amounts to the .223 and the 308 most of the time. Any info would be appreciated?

Last edited by Unregistered; 08-24-2012 at 03:50 PM.
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-24-2012, 04:35 PM
B&C 140 Class

Default My thoughts on a 300 yard shot on Deer/Elk