Deer Hunting Forums

Deer Hunting Forums (http://www.deerhuntersclub.com/forums/)
-   Rifle Hunting (http://www.deerhuntersclub.com/forums/rifle-hunting/)
-   -   I Am New To Hunting And I Need Help To Selecting My Rifle (http://www.deerhuntersclub.com/forums/rifle-hunting/765-i-am-new-hunting-i-need-help-selecting-my-rifle.html)

MICHAEL 10-13-2007 04:30 AM

I Am New To Hunting And I Need Help To Selecting My Rifle

Hi i am new to hunting and i need some advice on selecting my rifle i have a choice between a .308,.223,.243,.270 and a 30/30 what would be the best for me i want these for deer hunting i have fired a .308 at a target before and that alnost blew me over i am 12 and i have been duck shooting with a semi 12ga shot gun and that was cool so yeah got any advice thanx

buckfever 10-13-2007 07:43 AM

depends on how far you think your shots are going to be. for most youngsters i like the .243 or maybe even a 30-30. you said a 308 about knocked your arm off. about how long has it been since you shot the 308? because if you grew a little since then maybe it want bother you much anymore. if you handled the 12 guage good i bet you could get used to any of those guns you listed. if your scared of the kick at all in whatever gun you shoot dont feel bad if you need to step down in gun size. a .243 can drop any deer out there.

AJHunter 10-13-2007 08:12 AM

I agree with Buck on this one my friend, my suggestion is to go to a gun dealer and ask if you can try out all the guns first before you buy. Then you can make your decision on the performance of the weapon, as well as how comfortable that you feel, after shooting it.

Start with the smaller caliber rifles first.

AJHunter

BruceBruce1959 10-13-2007 10:22 AM

MICHAEL