new to deer hunting - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Rifle Hunting
Rifle Hunting Discuss Rifle Season topics

Old 09-14-2010, 03:54 PM
Scrub Buck

Default new to deer hunting

hello everyone i am new to deer hunting and new to texas because i am active duty and just got stationed here. i was wondering if anyone has any advice for getting my first buck. any advice would be great. and as far as my expertise level i have none except for sitting in a tree stand in nc on public hunting land and seeing a bunch of squirrels and no deer. i have a lease in beulleville or however it is spelled i know it is on 287 towards dallas. the main question i have is do cover scents really work like the laundry soap and body wash and cover scents? but again like i said any kind of advice is greatly apreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-14-2010, 06:30 PM

Greetings big_willy welcome to the deer hunters club.
Also a big Thank You for your service to this great country we live in.
There's really no one secret to successful deer hunting so it's not as easy as saying do this this and this and you'll be all set.

Harvesting your first buck takes time but If you keep in mind what you need to do you can find sucess quickly.
you need to beat the Deers Eyes, his Ears and his nose, Wearing Camo and blending into your backdrop works on a deers eyes,
You also have to keep as quiet as possible (coughing, sneezing etc etc etc, silence is golden)deer have excellent hearing but
if you are keeping quiet you'll do well, and then there's that nose,
Personally I think anyone can beat a deers Eyes and ears but a deer's nose is key to their survival, therefore Scent Control is a must,
making sure you do your very best to descent your equipment as well as yourself.
If you do your best to achieve all 3, the eyes, ears and nose then your putting yourself in the zone for a successful buck harvest.