First Time Deer Hunter - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Rifle Hunting
Rifle Hunting Discuss Rifle Season topics

Old 11-01-2008, 11:42 AM
Scrub Buck

Default First Time Deer Hunter

Hello Fellas:

Live in Southern Missouri where there's a lot of white tail deer. This is my first time deer hunting (I'm 35) and I'm taking my son in youth season today and tomorrow. He's shooting with a .243 youth rifle.

I'm searching the forum for just good pointers about things to do and not to do to make our hunt successful. Went this morning and saw 6 on 80 acres but they were all running. My little guy doesn't want to sit long. But I'm thinking sitting is pretty important after our hunth this morning.

Any advice on anything would be appreciated.

Matt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-01-2008, 12:10 PM
B&C 180 Class

ya found the right place.we encourage a family atmosphere here and you can read our tips section and browse thru all the topics posted allready.feel free to ask questions.you should sign your son up for the youth forum and contest as well.good luck out there make sure he has a good time and stay safe.
Genesis 27:3 "The thinking deer hunter should mature through three phases during his hunting life. First phase, "I need to kill a deer." Second phase, I want to harvest a nice deer. And last phase, we must manage this resource so our children and their children can experience the grand tradition of good deer hunting." - Jim Slinsky
Old 11-01-2008, 12:49 PM
ronn

keep the wind in your face whether sitting or slipping through the woods. that small a property sitting would be best but keep it fun for your son. make a game of it how long can you sit then try to beat it next time out. don't stomp up the property. it takes years to figure this thing out but tips from others will speed the learning up. good luck
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 10:17 PM
B&C 120 Class

Hey Welcome Aboard
Old 11-02-2008, 10:08 AM