Deer Hunting Forums banner

new to Rifle Hunting

7K views 18 replies 7 participants last post by  Karl.Luhr 
#1 ·
I am new to rifle hunting and recently purchased a Remington 700 SPS 300 Win. Mag. (I know its a big Cal.). my goal is to have a solid all around hunting rifle (deer, boar and black bear and if the opportunity presents Elk).

My frustration is choosing the right scope, There are so many out there. I have been told to get a scope that will take the recoil of the rifle, One that has a min. of 30 mm tube with a 50 mm lens, gas filled.

I have been looking at the Nikon Monarch 3 4-16x50 side focus BDC and the Leopold VX-R 12X50 and Vortex Viper PST 4-16X50 FFP. I feel like I am all over the place and getting more frustrated. My goal is to HUNT not Target shoot. I figure the majority of my shots will be in the 100 - 300 yard range.

I know in the end it comes down to what I like best bet any and all helpful input would be greatly appreciated.

#2 ·
HuntingRookie all three of those are great manufactures
I would not buy any of those without looking through them & feeling them
Nikon is famous for their lenses very clear also Check what the warranty is for each I have heard Vortex has a great warranty & no hassle Customer Service.
Unfortunatly I can't offer any more advice as I buy cheap scopes here in NH 100 yards is a long shot most are 75 yards or less I have enjoyed bowhunting more & more I hardly take out the rifles anymore
I don't think you will go wrong with either of the choices
I have always been a fan of Nikon only cameras I will buy
My father purchased a Nikon scope a year or 2 ago cant remember if it was the Monarch or the Prostaff but he loves it

#3 ·