Deer Hunting Forums banner

Lefty Looking for Guidance

2K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  Hunting Man 
#1 ·
Hey all,

Newbie here! I have an question that has been troubling me for a few days. I am left handed and have a hard time finding Deer rifles. I recently trading in my Browning A-Bolt Micro Hunter chambered in 7mm-08 that I bought when I was 16(11 years ago) for a Ruger Mark II M77 chambered in a 7mm Rem Mag. I hunt in western Wisconsin and am now concerned that I may have made a mistake and got too big of a rifle. The browning shot the same size bullet and had great results when I pulled the trigger, but as I get older I would like to hunt something besides deer ex:elk, moose or bear. Now I'm thinking of returning the 7mm and buying a new savage pro hunter xp in a 30-06. I know they are basically the same gun but I'm hoping being the 06 isnt a mag the meat lost on deer will be smaller and the variety in grain weight will give me the ability to shot whitetail to moose. Plus the 7mm is a hog of a gun and a lighter rifle even if only a pound will make the hikes easier, I am about 5'9'' and the 44.25" length seems big. Thoughts? Am I over thinking this? Anyone have a Savage? or had this same thought too?

#2 ·
Ballistically at the end of the bullets flight a deer won't know the difference between a 7mm Mag and a .30-06. Either one will take any of the game you listed with the right bullets and right weights. The advantage of the .30-06 is the ability to go a little heavier, say up to 220 grains. 7mm Mags top out best at around 175~180 grains. It the length seems "big", then have your length-of-pull measured and find the right stock that fits you best. Use the rifle that comes in that stock. And don't overthink caliber.

#3 ·
Barrel length, Barrel length