Deer Hunting Forums banner

Anybody have this rifle?

7K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  Father and Son Team 
#1 · (Edited)
So I'm new to hunting and ready to purchase my first rifle. I have done alot of research as far as brands and calibers and I think I have made a choice. I am very interested in the Mossberg ATR 100 30.06 or the .270. There are several reasons I like this gun, the main reason is the price. Money is not really an isssue but since I'm new to hunting there is alot of stuff that I would like purchase as well and I don't want to put all my eggs in one basket. I can get the gun from Walmart for $300 and then I planned on purchasing a leopold VX-III scope to round out the package. From what I've gathered the ATR 100 came out in 2005-2006 but I've been unable to find much in reviews other than 1 or 2 people saying it was a no frills rifle but was very accurate and built very solid. I am open to others brands as well; Howa, Savage, Remington and so on but the Mosseberg seems to be the best value. Keep in mind when I say I have to buy alot of hunting gear I mean alot, I have nothing of my own, my first hunt this year was all on borrowed stuff, so I really don't want to spend $500 -- $800 on just a rifle. Any input would great!!!!

#3 ·
Not familiar with the Mossberg.
Consider this though, the purchase of a rifle is, for many, not all, a once or twice in a lifetime acquisition. Unless the weapon turns out to be a total piece of junk you will be shooting with it for the next 6-10 years, probably more, and it will always be a sentimental favorite.
Make sure that every time you open the case, that specific weapon you chose will make you smile.
Your guidelines sound solid. I spent almost as much on my scope as I did my .270, and now, 12 years later I still have a very dependable hunting rifle. For the type of hunting I do I just do not feel the need for another rifle, I really enjoy the one I have, my first one.