Trail Monitoring System - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Rifle Hunting
Rifle Hunting Discuss Rifle Season topics

Old 12-03-2007, 07:46 PM
B&C 100 Class

Default Trail Monitoring System

Anybody tried those trail monitoring system that let you know if a deer is coming your way via a reciever that clips your belt. The only reason I ask is because I'm new to hunting and just recently had my first hunt in a pop up ground blind and loved it other than a few things. Where I hunt and will be hunting in the future there is a hill about 30yrds to the south, very thick tree/brush line to the west about 10 yrds away, there is field about 75yrds to the east and a road about 80 yrds to the north. So needless to say I don't have much notice if one is coming my way. I will not hunt in a stand due to a death of a close friend who fell out of one during bow season. Where I'm setup I really depend on sound to here if something is coming my way, and with the wind and the propane heater going it's tough to hear every little foot step. so I saw one of these in Cabelas and thought that would be a good way to know what direction a deer is going so I constantly don't have to keep looking all the over the place and scanning 360 degrees every second.
Advertisement

Old 12-03-2007, 10:59 PM

I've never heard of that but it sounds pretty cool, high tech but cool. So this device, does it alert you of an animal approaching from any/all directions or what? If it is something to bring positive vibes to your hunting experience then go for it. You did say that you don't have much notice if one is coming your way. Very sorry to hear about the loss of your close friend.
Old 12-03-2007, 11:11 PM
B&C 180 Class

new toys ,why not