Too Much Gun? - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Rifle Hunting
Rifle Hunting Discuss Rifle Season topics

Old 12-11-2012, 04:29 AM
B&C 100 Class

Default Too Much Gun?

After my most recent trip to the firing range to get a feel for the 45-70, after having owned and fired a 30-30 on numerous occasions, I noted that at the last mili-second, when I squeeze the trigger on it, I close my eyes.

The kick is definitely stronger (after all, its 300+ grains worth) than the 30-30.

I'll need a gun with this caliber for Moose, but I am tempted to say it is too much gun for "me."

For those who have been watching what I post in here, you know that I'm not "new" to guns, but I AM new to hunting, and am planning my first hunt in 2013. This gives me time to get familiar, comfortable and accurate with the 45-70, before entering the woods.

That said, are there any pointers you could offer, that would help me with the anticipation of the kick, control of the high caliber gun I'm shooting, and avoiding the temptation to close my eyes (lol).

Also, for those of you who are watching them, I'm up to my 5th video (in progress) in my chronicling of my journey to my first hunt. The next one due out soon, is about the gear choices I've made.

Here's the first video in the series:
So You Want To Be A Hunter, Part 1 - YouTube

-Soupy1957
Old 12-11-2012, 07:46 AM

well soupy1957, I like this part 1 video, I think it's a good personal documentary to share with others who might be interested in becoming hunters as well.

So far, I didn't hear any mention of the courteous hunters and genuine sportsman here at the Deer Hunters Club who share their wisdom with you
on their many many years of hunting, trapping & shooting knowledge.
offering you their best advice to guide you on your safest most successful hunting journey possible ,

J/K, I think you're doing a good job based on what I've seen in part 1
Good Luck and happy safe hunting always...