Powerbelt Aerolite bullets - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > MuzzleLoader Hunting
MuzzleLoader Hunting Discuss MuzzleLoader topics

Old 12-27-2011, 06:09 AM
Scrub Buck

Smile Powerbelt Aerolite bullets

I have been hunting with muzzle loaders for 50 years and have tried just about every bullet available, including making my own. I have TC, Knight and CVA muzzle loaders. A couple years ago, when I bought the CVA Optima in 50 cal. I was amazed at the accuracy. It is a magnum but I use two 777 pellets for the best accuracy. I can tear the center out of a target at 100 yards from a bench rest.

I found my best accuracy at the 100 grains of powder and most of my shooting is at 100 yards or less. I have been using the 295 grain powerbelt bullets with great success. I haven't lost a deer that I shot with them. I get great mushrooms but the bullet often hangs up on the off side hide. The deer don't go far so I have had no problems finding them.

Last week I got some 300 grain Aerotip/Aerolite bullet and went to the bench rest. I shot three times at 100 yards and had a 1 1/2" group dead center in the target. I cleaned up the muzzle loader, loaded it and went deer hunting. Two does came by at 50 yards and I dropped the first in it's tracks. I reloaded with a 295 grain hollow point because that was what was in my speed loader. I shot the second doe and she went about 50 yards and was down.

Yesterday afternoon I shot a huge doe with a 300 grain Aerotip/Aerolite bullet. She went 25 yards and was down. The blood trail started at about 10 yards from the hit and Ray Charles could have followed it. The bullet went through both shoulders and gave a nice exit wound. I am completely sold on these bullets. I think one of the biggest mistakes made is using too much powder which can hurt accuracy and these bullets are designed for lower velocity. Accuracy is way more important than velocity especially since these bullets are designed that way.