Deer Hunting Forums banner

Cheap-A: CVA or Traditions

63K views 26 replies 10 participants last post by  midwestprowler 
#1 ·
been a archery guy exclusively, (no rifles in Ohio) but my buddies keep telling me how muzzleloaders are just like a rifle, so I am considering a cheap one.

any pros or cons that make or break the deal between the $200 Traditions Buck Stalker or the $230 CVA Wolf?? (black/blue)

any advice is much appreciated!

#20 ·
Im no pro and you will get some CVA lovers say CVA is way better and some Traditions lovers say Traditions is way better.

To me they are about the same other than the $30 you would save by going with a Traditions.
somebody told me there made by the same company the buck stalker looks a lot like the cva wolf i just ordered one for $180 from dicks better price then gander mtn

#6 ·
I won't try to sway you either way as I'm a big TC fan. Sometimes going cheaper isn't a sound investment at any cost. Anyway, ML hunting is a very close second for me in the enjoyment department. I love flintlocks for PA but have several in-lines for Ohio hunting too. I always try to steer people to save a few dollars more and at least get into the middle of the road models and get a decent scope for it. Modern in-lines will shoot 200 + yds with practice. Use your buddies for load information or we can help and it depends on what brand ML you buy. There are a few CVA fans here, Traditions come in second to TC. If you check out Auction arms or Gun Broker you can find some great buys for new or high quality used models and you generally don't need a FFL dealer transfer. I picked up my TC Triumph for 250.00. Good luck

#7 ·
I'd choose the Traditions over any cva, the Buckstalker w/scope is an awesome package, the scope is superb out to 200 yards in fair lighting but in low light conditions or greater distances you'll probably want to opt for a high dollar scope.
Good Luck

#10 ·
bdave,