Deer Hunting Forums

Deer Hunting Forums (http://www.deerhuntersclub.com/forums/)
-   MuzzleLoader Hunting (http://www.deerhuntersclub.com/forums/muzzleloader-hunting/)
-   -   Bh209 (http://www.deerhuntersclub.com/forums/muzzleloader-hunting/7412-bh209.html)

scentman 03-16-2011 07:00 AM

Bh209

I have been having issues with my Accura fouling when using the BH209 powder. Aside from the one issue of the breach having a narrow flash channel, I am wondering if when I fire the gun my .50 powerbelt is not a really tight fit and is moving forward some thus keeping the charge from being compacted for a good fire.
I am very new to BH209 and wanted to know what you gents think?:mellow:

deerless 03-16-2011 08:42 AM

If that is what you think why not try a sabot and see what happens?

scentman 03-16-2011 08:44 AM

any suggestions on a sabot? All I ever used have been power belts along with 777 pellets.

daddus1 03-16-2011 09:45 AM

scentman,
I do know for a fact that you can't use the low output primers that you'd use with 777. You should use a standard shotgun primer. My encore can shoot 12 or 15 shots with sabots before it get hard. I tried this intentionally just to see if what they advertise is true and it is. With powerbelts you should not have a problem. I just use the standard Winchester 209 primers and it works very well.
Let us know how you make out, keep us in the loop.
Thanks and God bless
daddus

daddus1 03-16-2011 09:48 AM

scentman,
also max load for bh is 120 grains
daddus

frontiergander 03-16-2011 10:52 AM

adjust the head spacing. That will take care of the mess inside the action. Its mainly primer blow by. Powerbelts will work fine, i shoot thousands of them each year with BH209.

Muley 03-16-2011 11:14 AM

You spend thousands of dollars a year on Powerbelts?? :confused:

frontiergander 03-16-2011 12:06 PM

$20 per 15 x 4 to 5,000 shots a year. Thousands yes LOL.

Hunting Man 03-16-2011 12:16 PM