Deer Hunting Forums banner

Bh209

14K views 48 replies 9 participants last post by  sadmemories20 
#1 ·
I have been having issues with my Accura fouling when using the BH209 powder. Aside from the one issue of the breach having a narrow flash channel, I am wondering if when I fire the gun my .50 powerbelt is not a really tight fit and is moving forward some thus keeping the charge from being compacted for a good fire.
I am very new to BH209 and wanted to know what you gents think?:mellow:

#4 ·
scentman,
I do know for a fact that you can't use the low output primers that you'd use with 777. You should use a standard shotgun primer. My encore can shoot 12 or 15 shots with sabots before it get hard. I tried this intentionally just to see if what they advertise is true and it is. With powerbelts you should not have a problem. I just use the standard Winchester 209 primers and it works very well.
Let us know how you make out, keep us in the loop.
Thanks and God bless
daddus

#9 ·
I don't shoot 1000's of rounds but I don't see this crud ring issue either. The TC Triumph will only shoot 2 shots then needs a wire brush and good for two more. It loads sabots pretty tight. I haven't tried harvester sabots yet, but I'm not interested in powerbelts. Not much difference between TC super glides shock waves and Barnes bullet/sabots loading through the Triumph, both are tight. BH is a good powder.

#10 ·