New to ML - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > MuzzleLoader Hunting
MuzzleLoader Hunting Discuss MuzzleLoader topics

Old 01-06-2011, 02:50 PM
Unregistered

Default New to ML

Hey guys. I was doing some reading on ML hunting and this forum came up in a google search. I have some decent experience with modern rifles but have never used a ML before. A couple friends of mine did some ML hunting in northern Michigan before Christmas and told me it was a bunch of fun. Per their stories, I'm looking at giving ML deer hunting a shot. What I'm asking of you guys is a beginners crash course to ML rifles and hunting. I know that effective range is significantly reduced and there is something like in-line ML rifles that I've read about but I havn't been able to glean any more information than that. If you guys could help me out by giving me a crash course in ML deer hunting and things such as good beginner rifles, powder, ammunition I would be greatly appreciative. Thanks in advance for any information!
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-06-2011, 03:53 PM
B&C 100 Class

I am a beginner myself and looking into buiying a traditional muzzleloader rather than an inline. That way you can shoot round balls and conical bullets, whereas inlines would let you shoot only sabots and conicals. Conicals would have some flatter trajectory, but ...
a) are less fun to begin with
b) are more expensive to have good practicing than round balls

I would love to hear about "crash course" from the more experienced hunters too...
Old 01-06-2011, 05:26 PM
Unregistered

After doing a little looking, I think I would buy a TC Omega which I understand to be an inline muzzleloader. Is this a good beginners weapon? From what I can tell from online reviews and such it looks good to me
Old 01-06-2011, 06:03 PM

You can not go wrong with a TC product.