Deer Hunting Forums banner

clueless

3K views 6 replies 7 participants last post by  BruceBruce1959 
#1 ·
well after much badgering from friends&cousin im thinking of buying a muzzleloader.i am a beginner and would like some opinions on these guns and questions.the guns im interseted in are the cva apex,thompson pro and a traditions vortek.this will be for deer hunting only.do you just shoot powerbelts because there cleaner?will all mls shoot powerbelts accurately,does cva have better quality now i they had some past issues,is the thomphson worth the extra money over the cva.where does the vortek stand in all this.im in no hurry im gonna get some knowledge and get familar with the weapon and be ready for next year,just want to make a good choice.i have a leupold vx2 3-9 in the safe so thats gonna be my scope.sorry about length of thread.appreciate the help.

#2 ·
spiker,
I shoot the Encore pro hunter and have no problem with my gun. The pro hunter is very versatile in that it can convert to almost any caliber with the swap of a barrel. One of the upsides is you can have the same excellent trigger pull on your shotgun, rifle, pistol or muzzleloader because you are using the same frame. The downside can be the cost of purchase, I don't know what your finanicals are but it has to be considered. The other guns are straight muzzleloaders? and I'm sure are just fine for what you have in mind .
I do suggest the blackhorn 209 powder, it is as clean as they advertise.
Good luck,
daddus1
if resale value is your thing the TC might be your best bet

#4 ·
for a ML only, I really like my TC Triumph shoots with the best of them. Power belts are just one bullet to try. Seems like they either shoot very good or they shoot like crap, you just have to try them. I also like Black Horn powder with either TC shock waves or Barnes bullets in 250 gr. I suggest you look at online auctions for a muzzleloader. Great deals are out there.

#5 ·
Beginner Advice