Deer Hunting Forums banner

Traditions Buckstalker

46K views 24 replies 11 participants last post by  3212 
#1 ·
Good afternoon everyone I am new to this site and the brief amount of time i have had to read the threads impressed me! a lot of muzzle loading knowledge on this site. I am new to muzzleloading just recieved a Traditions buck stalker this fall, was wondering if anyone has fired one, if so do you think it would fit the bill for whitetails?. I am a bow hunter at heart but getting excited to try muzzleloading up here.

#2 ·
hello and welcome to the site. Once you get hooked on muzzleloading you'll never give it up. You didn't say what caliber rifle you got but I would assume a 50 cal. This is the most popular caliber for deer hunters. Give us some more info regarding your purchase and someone will know something about it.

#5 ·
I don't have the Buckstalker but I hunt with a Traditions Pursuit Muzzleloader.
I'm sure you'll be happy with your new Traditions.

FYi,, I use 2 - 50grain pellets in mine, that's more than enough energy and velocity for a whitetail deer.

#6 ·
if you use pellets you can sometimes fins 35 grains try use using a 50 and a 35

#7 ·
I just bought the buckstalker myself, really liking it so far. It is true to its name and that .50 cal will drop a deer, loads vary from person to person as everyone seems to have that one perfect load. Find what works for you, you can fine tune your load outs with loose powder, its more hassle but probably gains maximum results.

Overall depending on the round you are shooting you can be pushing usually anywhere from a .45 to .50 cal 200+ grain round with some fairly impressive energy potential and decent muzzle velocity into a deer, using the proper rounds you can do some massive damage in there. Shot placement is king, all that is probably preaching to the choir if you love to play the strings.

#9 ·