New to muzzleloading, would like some pointers... - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > MuzzleLoader Hunting
MuzzleLoader Hunting Discuss MuzzleLoader topics

Old 11-30-2008, 09:32 PM
Scrub Buck

Default New to muzzleloading, would like some pointers...

Hello fellow hunters. I am new to muzzleloading and thought I would come to you all for some pointers. I recently acquired a Traditions Pursuit LT .50 caliber, and am getting ready for the muzzleloading season. I wasn't really sure what type of powder to buy. I have been looking at various places and it seems that the type of powder used are the triple seven pyrodex pellets. And I was going to use Hornady SST Sabots since I use them in my shotgun with excellent results, any other recommendations would be welcomed. Is there any good or bad buys on 209 primers, or any of the above? I didn't know if these were bad choices since I have never really had to buy any muzzleloading stuff before.
I see some people writing about cleaning after each shot, but I wasn't sure if that was for older style muzzleloaders or for inline types also.
Anything odd I need to pick up that I might not know about? I hear some people use bullet starters, bore butter, odds and ends I have heard about, but don't really know the necessity of it all.
Thank you all for your help, and best of hunting. -NightbirdX
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-01-2008, 06:17 AM
B&C 160 Class

Sounds like you have a prety good start. I use the Winchester 209's and have never had any trouble. A ball starter is a needed item. The powder choice depends on you a lot of hunters use the triple seven. Make sure you have plenty of speed loads the worst thing is to need one more shot and not have with you.