Hunting on the ground - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Lodge
The Lodge Meet other hunters and share hunting stories, tips, and tricks.

Old 11-02-2010, 04:34 PM
B&C 100 Class

Default Hunting on the ground

OK I am new to kansas from Louisiana been on here a few times recently but have another Kansas Hunting question. I have always hunted on the ground but it has always been in woodlands not many open areas where i'm from. Here the WIHA i am going to hunt has mostly open fields with a small wooded area so I am going to need to hunt the field to be successful (I Think). Lets just say I don't like heights ( no Southern man is AFRAID of anything). I am concerned about being seen or sniffed out on the ground so I bought this link below ground blind. Are these things of any real use here or have I wasted my money?

Comfort Zone Predator Hunting Blind - Dick's Sporting Goods
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2010, 04:42 PM

You can hunt from the ground and be just as sucessful as any other hunting method. Just from the ground you cant see through things as good as you can see above them in a tree. Pay attention to the wind direction and cover your scent really well and you ought to be in good shape. For me blinds have scared deer away more than when I'm tucked away in good cover. If they just see a blind for the first time without either being used to seeing it there or having it brushed in and a part of the woods they will usually spook quickly so cover well.
Old 11-02-2010, 05:06 PM
B&C 100 Class

so that brings another question. I have never even made an effort to "cover my scent" do you mean buying some of that spry stuff. Man hunting in the marsh of louisiana is much easier stand by a tree smoke a cigarette and shoot when they walk out.
Old 11-02-2010, 06:53 PM