Treestand safety - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Lodge
The Lodge Meet other hunters and share hunting stories, tips, and tricks.

Old 10-21-2010, 09:38 AM
B&C 160 Class

Default Treestand safety

Has anyone heard of the issue with the 4 point harnesses that when you fall out of the stand that you may only have a few minutes to get yourself back on the stand? The word I heard is that when you fall out and are suspended by the harness that the leg straps restrict the blood flow to the legs. The arteries feeding the legs are huge and carry allot of blood and when they are restricted several things start to happen in the body and none of them are good.

One thing is the heart starts to beat very rapidly to try and increase the blood flow to the legs; the other is that pooled blood clots and can cause strokes or heart attacks when released.

I am not a doctor I just picked this up in conversation so take it for what it's worth.

I think a take away is that always make sure that your tether doesn't allow you to drop so far you can not get yourself righted quickly.
Advertisement

Old 10-21-2010, 11:41 AM
B&C 100 Class

If you hang long enough yes eventually it could cause loss of circulation to your lower extremities. Hunters should make an effort during the spring and summer month to add physical fitness to their preperations for the upcoming hunting season. Hunters should focus on not only cardio fitness, but also work on building upper body strength as well.
Old 10-21-2010, 12:29 PM
B&C 180 Class