hunting in the rain - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Lodge
The Lodge Meet other hunters and share hunting stories, tips, and tricks.

Old 12-03-2009, 06:06 AM
Scrub Buck

Default hunting in the rain

are there advantages to hunting in the rain /do the deer still move or just lay down like cows
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-03-2009, 06:18 AM

There's another thread that covers this topic...

Deer Movement in the Rain<-click to view

Old 12-03-2009, 06:19 AM
B&C 100 Class

I thought this was asked a few days ago. Im no expert but in my experiences a light rain may stimulate movement. Heavy rains will lay em down. I hate hunting in any rain because its a sight game only. My nose isnt too good and my ears are filled with other noises. Its sight only and possible to have one walk right past you if you happen to be looking the other way. I carry a garbage bag for a quick raincoat but rarely sit it out. I have Frogg toggs raingear but have never used it.
Old 12-03-2009, 11:26 AM
B&C 100 Class

It depends. If it was a couldless night with a full moon and the deer ate all night, do you think it is going to stand out in the rain for your target practice?

The harder the rain and wind the more disadvantaged the deer are and the less you will see, but there are so many factors. Like hunger, warmth, rut....

That said studies show that deer movement is reduced 60% with winds above 15 mph, but a group of 4 deer slowly walked across the 100 yd wide powerline yesterday afternoon when they had a full moon the night before and the wind was gusting very hard.

It is hunting people
Old 12-03-2009, 06:42 PM
Scrub Buck

Quote:
Originally Posted by stairman View Post