scouting for deer - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Lodge
The Lodge Meet other hunters and share hunting stories, tips, and tricks.

Old 09-23-2009, 01:02 PM
Scrub Buck

Default scouting for deer

I am new at deer hunting and im wondering where to look when scouting for deer. I hunt in the nc mountains. Also where should i place a stand. We do not have food plots but we have secluded fields, a large field and hardwoods, and conifers.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-23-2009, 04:10 PM

Welcome to the site Austin, if you look through many of the past posts regarding scouting you will find a wealth of information on the subject. I'm sure some of our NC members can help you on specific questions for your area.
Old 09-23-2009, 09:53 PM

Hey Austin and welcome to DHC.com. I'm not familiar with NC at all but if you are in hilly terrain it would be fairly esay to spot a deer trail along a hill due to the wear and tear on the ground.
Old 09-23-2009, 10:02 PM
ronn

here something to get you started. you are not scouting for deer. you scout for deer sign. not being a wise guy but you are better off looking for the sign. trails, scrapes, and rubs from last year and years past.
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 11:07 PM
B&C 100 Class