parasites and disease? - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Lodge
The Lodge Meet other hunters and share hunting stories, tips, and tricks.

Old 08-28-2009, 11:28 AM
B&C 100 Class

Exclamation parasites and disease?

Is there any real fear of shooting deer in the early bow season because of parasites and disease from the summer. i have heard a few folks talk about this and wasnt real sure so i figured i woul dask the pro's. (BB and HM) Hopefully you guys can help me clear this up a little. cause it opens next weekend and i dont wanna jump the gun.
Jesus Said "come with me and i will make you fishers of men" matt 4:19
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-28-2009, 01:43 PM
B&C 140 Class

I've been hunting deer for about 50 years and never heard of anyone not hunting the early part of the season because of parasites found in the deer at that time or, more importantly, anyone getting sick because their venison was killed early in the season. On the other hand, I don't claim to be a wildlife biologist. I suppose there is some risk factor in eating any wild game (just like there is eating any domestic meat that is processed by "professionals"). I believe pretty strongly that any parasite that is present in the beginning of the season will surely be present throughout the whole season. If it'll make you feel more confident, I'd suggest that you contact your sate wildlife folks and ask them about any health risks that you might need to consider before eating the deer in your state.
Old 08-28-2009, 03:25 PM

Unless the deer show unusual behavoir proir to the shot or any unusual things in the chest cavity or gut pile then other than get the hide off asap for quick cool down maybe ice it down if you can't get to a refridgerator quickly, protect from flies, and proper cooking I can't think of any other precautions that I would take.
Old 08-29-2009, 07:50 PM