New guy looking for info and help - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Lodge
The Lodge Meet other hunters and share hunting stories, tips, and tricks.

Old 07-12-2009, 04:17 AM
Scrub Buck

Default New guy looking for info and help

I am new at hunting. Last season was my first time, and I didn't get a deer. Which that is fine, because I had no clue what I was doing. I want this year to be different though. Right now I am in Iraq, with nothing better to do than research deer. I have learned a lot about their habits and am much better informed than last year. Is there anything you have experienced you would like to share? Please do. I live and hunt in Central Florida, if that has any bearing. Thanks in advance for any advice or info you may have.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2009, 08:42 AM
B&C 140 Class

Welcome from Montana,
First of all, since you are in Iraq, I can speak for everyone here, and say we are all with you in spirit, we thank you for your sacrifice and wish the the very best. As for help with deer hunting, there is lots of help here for you. This is a pretty big subject and answering specific questions usually works best. As for a general suggestion, I would say be mindful of your scent as this will negatively effect your hunt more and faster than anything else. Get out early and stay late. When you move, move slower than you think you should (I'm assuming that you hunt thick cover here.)
Best regards.
Old 07-12-2009, 09:15 AM

Greetings from Vermont Sean and welcome to the deer hunters club, and a personal Thank You for seving our country we here at the "DHC" totally support our troops.