Deer coming to a spot?????? - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Lodge
The Lodge Meet other hunters and share hunting stories, tips, and tricks.

Old 11-17-2008, 10:24 PM
Scrub Buck

Default Deer coming to a spot??????

How long will deer avoid an area where another deer has been killed and field dressed? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2008, 10:36 PM
Scrub Buck

I'm no expert, but I've noticed the deer I've seen act like nothing happened. Gut pile there, quite soon after the shot deer are back there. After my dad shot one this season, he had just pulled the guts out, and looks up to see a big doe watching him. My thoughts have been that the big bucks are smarter though. Maybe that's why they've lived to be old enough to be big.

Again, I don't know anything for sure, just speaking from my thoughts and little bit of experience.
Old 11-18-2008, 05:51 AM
B&C 140 Class

Unless the deer are just all out totally spooked, they MIGHT stay away for a few days, but I think they will soon get back to their normal schedule. As for the bucks, you may get another big one to come in, b/c he wasn't there when it happend so....to answer you question, a week at the most, but I don't think it will be very long if they wern't spooked too bad.
Old 11-18-2008, 07:06 AM
B&C 140 Class

3 things affect them;
1) How much did you disturb the area? It is always best to remove the animal as quickly and quietly as possible.
2) Did you leave a gut pile? This is not good practise if you care to return. This answer is really 2 and 3.
a) If the pile is not cleaned up by scavengers quickly it of coarse it begins to rot and stink. Do you like the smell of rotting flesh? Guess what deer don't either.