Deer Hunting Forums

Deer Hunting Forums (http://www.deerhuntersclub.com/forums/)
-   The Lodge (http://www.deerhuntersclub.com/forums/lodge/)
-   -   New to the "new ownership of deer" (http://www.deerhuntersclub.com/forums/lodge/10327-new-new-ownership-deer.html)

Native Floridian Vet 12-18-2012 10:15 PM

New to the "new ownership of deer"

I need some advice and opinions from some of the sages out there in cyberworld. Here is my story (remember there are two sides to the story to be fair to the land owners next to my lease...and how I see it)

1. I am a Veteran, retired military.
2. I am back at my home town
3. I purchased a lease of approx 55 acres near a small corner with landowners who object to killing "their deer" cause they fed them! (told me so)

At first I almost backed out of the lease because it was archery only.......the military never issued me a bow and arrow so I never learned to shoot accurately....

Anyway I got the lease ......I met a few of the landowners adjacent to the property...all seemed nice at first. (I bogged my truck down in the swamp they call a road) They were sympathetic but didn't offer to assist in vehicle recovery. (8N ford tractor idling nearby in the background)

Then in Archery season ....yes I learned to shoot somewhat accurately......
a deer carcass was deposited near my stand as well as other garbage that Bear like? Yep you got it Momma bear and two cubs moved right in....(they love shelled corn too.):confused:

Well after 50 plus years I have hunted a enough to say I missed a shot or two at deer. Killed one spike in all those years (really was about a three of four point but one horn was broken and the other was deformed with about three button bumps trying to make points on it? (okay it was an ugly rack!):unsure: