Geared Up and Ready To Go! - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Lodge
The Lodge Meet other hunters and share hunting stories, tips, and tricks.

Old 11-12-2012, 03:22 AM
B&C 100 Class

Default Geared Up and Ready To Go!

As most of you should know by now, I'm a self-proclaimed rookie at hunting. I've owned and shot guns, but not in the field. Circumstances were such that I just didn't have the opportunity. Now I do.

So with that, I have put together the basic gear, picked up the gun, and need to get over to the local Firing Range to get my gun zeroed in, and become "one" with it.

The constant checks I do, of the State of Connecticut DEP Website, for Hunter Safety Classes (required before Licensing) either reveal classes that are seemingly "full" almost immediately, or none at all.

Here are my next goals:

-Get into some Hunter Safety Course SOMEWHERE (anywhere in my
State.
-Get over to the Firing Range
-Upon completion of the next available Hunter Safety Course, go to
Town Hall and get my Hunting License (even if I DON'T intend to hunt
this year, I'll need a License here, in order to secure one in Maine,
which is apparently the prerequisite for that).
-Plan a hunting trip for next fall (I have already made the necessary
call to my "brother" up in Maine and we are actively talking about
Moose in October, but I think a Buck Deer may be my only realistic
hope, if the odds of getting a Lottery for Moose are as tough as
I hear).

So my questions are:

-Am I missing any other opportunities, (leads) for Hunter Safety Classes?
(I have Rod & Gun Clubs in my area, but I'm having trouble getting
info from them).
-I went to my local Firing Range 30 years ago, with the rifles I had at
that time, in the hopes of getting out to hunt. What do they cost
these days? Time limits on the range? Do they provide Targets?
-I have heard that "getting picked in the Lottery in Maine for Moose