Iron Sights -vs- Scopes - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Lodge
The Lodge Meet other hunters and share hunting stories, tips, and tricks.

Old 11-02-2012, 07:42 AM
B&C 100 Class

Default Iron Sights -vs- Scopes

This ought to stir up a can-o-worms, but that's not my intent. I'm just a newbie, asking "newbie" questions (aren't you tired of those??? lol).

I said I want to rely on my iron sights on the gun, but I'm being encouraged to put a 1.5 x 7 (or thereabouts) on my gun.

Two things, .......

A) I can appreciate the fact that, at 55, my eyes aren't what they
used to be, and having a Scope will help me achieve a "clean kill."
B) Back when I had another gun years ago, I remember being whacked
in the forehead by the Scope on THAT gun, and I don't want a repeat
of that; especially with the kick of a 45-70!

Your thoughts, advice, opinions, appreciated.......

I have been studying up, and it looks like Weaver is the most popular form
of Scope Base Plate, with a variety of rings to choose from. The "quick release" rings bother me. I figure if you snag a branch or whatever, you could slip that locking handle loose.

-Soupy1957
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2012, 09:18 AM
B&C 120 Class

I don't know how hard a 45-70 kicks.Maybe you can get a long eye relief scope.I have done all my deer hunting with 30-30 and .243 rifles.Low recoil from these.With open sights you have 3 objects to focus on,the deer,the front sight and the rear sight.You can only focus on 2.The scope reduces this to 2 objects,the deer and the crosshairs.
Old 11-02-2012, 09:58 AM
B&C 100 Class

If it's a "first thing in the morning" (dawn) hunt, add another factor I suppose......the shaking from the cold!! (Depending on how long I've been sitting there waitin on the deer.

-Soupy1957
Old 11-02-2012, 10:37 AM
B&C 120 Class